So like it or not here it comes..the low down on hybrids and the true ownership costs, the energy crisis, and maybe a little bit about the president and how he handles everything.
to start this blog off i will cover hybrids. while hybrids boast the high 30 to low 40 miles per gallon this isnt the true cost of energy that they do use..In gen 1-2 and all non plug in hybrids you have to factor in the cost of the batteries for them. these batteries only last about 10 years or 100,000 miles (the later to be reached in most circumstances). what happens after this has been reached? you are forced to replace the batteries which will set you back between 5-10 grand..i havent done the math on it but i know it makes true cost per mile higher, its just common sense. so basically if you buy a used hybrid, you need to go get a dunce hat and wear it. now plug in electric hybrids...a great concept and coming on to the market very soon..but where does this electricity come from? the wall? dont be ignorant..it comes from the electric grid which is 80 percent based on fossil fuels. so you arent any greener than that of a gas engine owner. not to mention that your electric bill jumps up and while you may save money at the pump you will put it into the pockets of the electric companies. so you really arent saving a dime and you definitely arent saving the world by driving a hybrid. leading to my next topic
with the increased usage of hybrids and general energy demand increasing where is this energy to come from? fossil fuels are not the answer because like the oil crisis they will only continue to get more expensive as mines are used up. solar is well expensive and does not have the capacity..it only works in the day time and most people work during the day and use little power at home. so now we all drive home in our hybrids and plug them in but oh wait a blackout occurs because we used up all the sun's energy we harnessed for the day..at best the capacity factor for a solar farm would be close to 60 percent which is assuming 60 percent of the day we are exposed to sun light and we have 100% conversion..both are highly unlikely. similar to solar wind is considered the next best green option. and like solar, wind has a low capacity factor..simply there is not the amount of wind required to turn the blades at 100% speed all the time. I believe the number is in the low 30s or 20s depending on area. what is left? dare i say the words...NUCLEAR!!! OMG nuclear its like the devil and its terrible, radiation is bad :( as many of you know this is a common view and it couldnt be more wrong. everything in this world is radioactive to an extent. capacity factors on nuclear plans are in the low 90s and it is the safest form way to convert a fuel into a power due to the extensive designs and regulations. nuclear is by far the only option to solve this crisis in a timely manner and not risk the rolling blackouts due to the irregularity of the actual energy demands of the only other two options. the ignorant population wants a magic power that comes free and is underground so they dont see it and is always there when they want it..well guess what it does not exist so face the system. the fact is democrats keep screwing the industry over. it started with carter turning his back on his heritage (he was either a nuclear operator on a sub or an engineer on one..but in the navy these two are vary similar positions) now we have pelosi and reid blocking everything and the poison has spread into the white house. we need nuclear and we need it now..the time to start building plants is now. the time to start training new engineers and scientists is now. use some of that stimulus money to give scholarships for students to study in those areas.. leading into my final topic
the president couldnt be more wrong on the economy...the national debt has risen substantially in the last 5 months and there is no plan to reduce it. now he wants to spend an addtional 1 trillion dollars to fix healthcare? this is the most absurd thing i have ever heard. i watched his abc special report on blah blah blah free healthcare blah blah blah lies lies lies. let me simplify it for you. bankrupt america. he is going to bankrupt america or put the country into a depression. it will have to pay for this somehow. it will come sooner than you think. the current recession may be lifting but when april 15th 2009 rolls around and the middle class has to start shelling out his first born child just to pay its taxes. i kid you not..it may not be 2009 but we will have another recession or depression because of this spending. taxes will get raised and the middle class will suffer as they have been since the beginning of the bourgeois in times of the monarchies of europe. we need a GOOD plan to pay for the debt we already have before spending any more large sums of money. period. and what about North Korea? the korean war has never ended..it is still going, right now they are just at a ceasefire agreement which came to an end at the end of may this year..the north koreans are looking for any excuse to invade and take over.we currently have roughly 30,000 men and women in that part of the world. they would have to fight off a 1.3 million man army..needless to say they would all not come out alive but it would cost us 30,000 america lives. appeasement politics do not work look at hitler and WWII. the only thing they understand is getting the literal piss bombed out of them. i say go for it. lets hit the capital city quick and hard. continuous bombing runs until they surrender. they dont have an airforce. so use the air to our advantage. block off the coast and get rid of the dictator before he makes this a nuclear grade conflict. and this whole iran situation..wtf you guys cant come have hot dogs and burgers with us because you killed civilians who rioted...seriously..like this is change this is the same old bush politics. i liked bush as a president but i did not like how he handled everything. change would have been to go in and offer to help quell the rebellion in a civilized manor..yes i know that the current president rigged the election but there isnt anything we can do about it. if we helped contain the rebellion as a peaceful act of kindness it would change the views of america as an evil empire. plus people would not be getting beat by our soldiers or killed. on the smoking ban garbage..i dont smoke and i dont like being anywhere around it but people have the right to smoke..it is not an illegal substance so get over it. people that smoke have been around it for their lives and you wont stop anybody from doing it unless you make it illegal (i dont think is right but still) targeting children..bad flavored tobacco products not so bad who cares if they have cherry flavored cigars or snuff...it gives the user a different flavor..i happen to love the smell of snuff or chew, i can thank an ex roommate randy for introducing me to the smell. i dont dip but i love the smell of wintergreen and other flavored snuff. you arent going to stop people from smoking unless you make it illegal so quit isolating a minority by raising taxes on it. all it does is take food out of the mouths of our children. i know you are questioning the validity of that statement so let me explain. the rich can afford the increased cost so no harm done, the middle class could give up a minor thing say not eating out at a restaurant on a weekly or biweekly basis to afford it but the poor would be forced to give up what? they would most likely buy less food in order to afford the increased costs of tobacco related products. less food means a kid could go hungry which is terrible. i disagree with spending money on bailing out any company whether it was AIG, GM, Chrysler, etc...all the automakers that were bailed out went bankrupt anyways..so a waste of70 billion dollars (50 for gm and 20 i think for Chrysler)
i agree with Thomas Jefferson, co founder of the USA, the government is meant to be wise and frugal. we are not acting wise or frugal at the moment. in fact it is the exact opposite.
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
No comments:
Post a Comment